Contact the CRA/Community Development Department

Let's talk about community development

Contact us - important (moves focus down)

What our team does

The Community Reinvestment Act (CRA) was enacted in 1977 to encourage banks to help meet the needs of the communities in which they operate. Our CRA team works to fulfill this mission.

BB&T Community Development Specialists

These associates work to find financial solutions and help bring capacity that will stimulate development activities in the local marketplace. They serve as liaisons between the community and the bank to facilitate:

  • Community development loans
  • Services
  • Investment opportunities

CRA Regulatory Compliance

The team's primary function is to monitor the progress of the bank's CRA performance for each three-year exam cycle. This includes:

  • Setting goals for the Lending, Investment and Service Tests
  • Providing ongoing monitoring reports to Executive Management and senior leadership
  • Collecting and submitting the bank's small business and farm loan data (CRA LR)

CRA Investment

The team strives to provide bank funding for affordable housing projects by investing in:

  • Low-Income Housing Tax Credits (LIHTC)
  • Historic Tax Credits (HTC & Mill credits) for affordable housing projects (including multifamily, single-family and special-use)
  • Small Business Administration Participation Certifications (SBAPCs)
  • GNMA-REMICs (permanent financing for affordable units)

 Our investments target the needed funding for low-to-moderate income communities to build and revitalize.

Contact us

Charlotte office

Winston-Salem office

Meet our team

Senior Leadership Team

Sharon Jeffries-Jones
CRA/Community Development Department Director

Jo A. Peay
Administrative Assistant

Brian Coyle
CRA Investment Manager

Suzanne Heidenreich
CRA Regulatory Compliance Manager

Craig Pascal
Community Development Manager

Heidi Schoonover
CRA Services Manager and Lending Coordinator

Wendy Wingrove
Community Development

CRA Investments

Brian Coyle
CRA Investment Manager

Ryan Ammann
CRA Investment Portfolio Manager

LaNetta Wright
FHL Bank Program Specialist

 

Community Development Specialists

Craig Pascal
Community Development Manager
Region: Washington, D.C.
CPascal@BBandT.com

Don Burback
Region: Alabama; Houston, TX; College Station, TX;
Odessa, TX; and Midland, TX
DBurback@BBandT.com

Louis Freeman
Region: Florida
EFreeman@BBandT.com

David Grow
Region: Pennsylvania and South New Jersey
DGrow@BBandT.com

Marlo Long
Region: Kentucky; West Virginia; and Cincinnati, OH
Marlo.Long@BBandT.com

Derold McIver
Region: Georgia and South Carolina
DMcIver@BBandT.com

Cindy Mims
Region: Virginia and Kingsport, TN
CMims@BBandT.com

Mark Nerio
Region: Tennessee, Austin, TX; San Antonio, TX;
Dallas, TX; and Fort Worth, TX
MNerio@BBandT.com

John Stokes
Region: North Carolina and Myrtle Beach, SC
JTStokes@BBandT.com

Janice Williams
Region: Maryland
Janice.Williams@BBandT.com

CRA Regulatory Compliance

Suzanne Heidenreich
CRA Regulatory Compliance Manager

Mitzi Alexander
Administrative Assistant

Winston Bruce
CRA Compliance Officer

Calan Charlton
CRA Compliance Officer

Sharon McMichael
CRA Compliance Officer

Nicky Trimiar
CRA Compliance Officer

 

Administrative Support

Mitzi Alexander
Administrative Assistant
Charlotte, NC

Jo A. Peay
Administrative Assistant
Winston-Salem, NC

 

Branch Banking and Trust Company is a Member FDIC and an Equal Housing Lender. Equal Housing Lender icon